Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Academic and Professional Communications: Searching for scholarly sources

Academic & Professional Communications

Start your search

Once you have developed your research question you can start planning your search.

Your search results are tied to the keywords that you use, so it's very important that you use the right words to find the right information. Start by looking for the main ideas or concepts in your topic.
 


Let's look at a sample assignment topic: "The role of social media in shaping body image in teenagers"
 

From the topic above there are three main concepts:

  • Social media
  • Body image
  • Teenagers

 

 

The main concepts become the foundation of your keyword search and are an excellent starting point for your research.

Search the library catalogue

A good place to start searching for scholarly sources is the Curtin Library catalogue which includes a variety of resources (such as journal articles, book chapters and ebooks). Watch the following video for an introduction to searching in the catalogue:

 

Search the library databases

Databases are large, searchable indexes of scholarly literature, which predominantly include journal articles. Databases can cover a range of subject areas (multidisciplinary) or they can concentrate on a specific area (subject specific). They offer more sophisticated search features than the Library Catalogue, which can make it easier to focus your search and find relevant material. In some subject areas specialist databases also contain material which is not available elsewhere!
 

We recommend starting with a simple search using your main concepts in the ProQuest database (though you will find a full list of databases via the Databases page on the Library website). You will need to enter each different concept into a separate search box. The search boxes are joined with AND which means the database will only look for articles which include all of the different concepts.

 

ProQuest advanced search

 

 

If you are not finding relevant journal articles or you are not finding as much information as you would like, see the following tips for expanding your search.

Expand your search strategy


 

The following video demonstrates how to perform an expanded search in the ProQuest database:

 

 

 

Most databases allow you to limit to peer-reviewed journals. Note, however, that the search results may include other types of articles from peer-reviewed journals such as letters to the editor or editorials which may not be appropriate for your assignment. If you are unsure about the suitability of an article, see our scholarly sources page for tips on identifying scholarly sources.