Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA 7th referencing guide

Entire website

No reference list entry is required.


Extra Tips!

  • If citing from a particular page on a website, use the Webpage on a website reference type
  • When referring to a whole website, provide the URL of that website in-text. e.g. The Department of Health website (https://www.health.gov.au) provides travel health information. 

Webpage on a website

Reference components:

Author Surname, Initial(s) or Organisation. (year). Title of webpage in italics. Site name. URL

 

Examples

 In-text example

(Hansen, 2019).

Hansen (2019) states...

(DevelopmentWA, n.d.).

According to the DevelopmentWA (n.d.)... 

In-text example: Quoting

"We must unite behind the science " (Hansen, 2019, para. 2).

Hansen (2019) suggests that "we must unite behind the science" (para. 2). 

In-text example: Optional organisation name abbreviation

First citation:

(Department of Education and Training [DET], 2016).

The Department of Education and Training (DET, 2016) suggests ...  

Subsequent citations:

(DET, 2016).

DET (2016) provides...

Reference list entry

Department of Education and Training. (2016). Improving Australian and European mobility. https://www.education.gov.au/news/improving-australian-and-european-mobility

DevelopmentWA. (n.d.). Elizabeth Quay. https://www.mra.wa.gov.au/projects-and-places/elizabeth-quay

Hansen, J. (2019). Coming together in times of crisis. Sea Shepherd. https://seashepherd.org.au/latest-news/bushfire-commentary

Extra Tips!

  • When the author and the site name are the same, omit the site name
  • For multiple pages from the same website published in the same year include a unique reference list entry for each and differentiate with a, b, c etc. after the date in-text and in the reference list e.g. (2019a) (2019b)
  • If there is no date on the webpage, replace the year with (n.d.)
  • The copyright date on the website should not be used as a publication date for a particular webpage. If there is a last updated date on the page then this can be used
  • In-text citation: When quoting, if there is no page number, use a paragraph number instead

Webpage on a news website

Reference components:

Author Surname, Initial(s). (year, Month day). Title of webpage in italics. Site Name. URL

 

Examples

In-text example

(MacLennan, 2019). 

MacLennan (2019) points out...

In-text example: If quoting

New laws have made it "illegal for people to resell tickets for more than a 10 per cent mark-up" (MacLennan, 2019, para. 2).

MacLennan (2019) reports that new laws have made it "illegal for people to resell tickets for more than a 10 per cent mark-up" (para. 2).

Reference list entry

MacLennan, L. (2019, October 25). Michael McIntyre ticket scalping highlights need for onselling crackdown. ABC News. https://abc.net.au/news/2019-10-25/michael-mcintyre-scalping-highlights-onselling-problem/11640714

Extra Tips!

  • Use for articles from online news sources that don't have an associated daily or weekly newspaper

Online dictionary or encyclopedia entry (e.g. Wikipedia)

KEY INFORMATION

Reference components:

Author Surname, Initial(s) or Organisation. (year). Title of entry. In Title of dictionary or encyclopedia in italics. Publisher Name. Retrieved Month day, year from URL

 

EXAMPLES

In-text example

("Ecology," n.d.).

"Ecology" (n.d.) explores...

In-text example: If quoting

Behaviorism is defined as "a school of psychology that takes the objective evidence of behavior" (Merriam-Webster, n.d., para. 1).

Merriam-Webster (n.d.) defines behaviorism as "a school of psychology that takes the objective evidence of behavior" (para. 1).

Reference list entry

Ecology. (n.d.). In Wikipedia. Retrieved March 9, 2016, from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ecology

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Behaviorism. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved November 20, 2019 from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/behaviorism

Extra Tips!

  • Check with your lecturer first that sources such as Wikipedia are appropriate for use in your assignment
  • The title moves to the author position when there is no author
  • Include a retrieval date when the source material may change over time
  • If there is no date on the webpage, replace the year with (n.d.) 

Lecture

Reference components:

Author Surname, Initial(s). (year). Title of lecture in italics [Format]. Site Name. URL

 

Examples

In-text example

(Leaver, 2012).

Leaver (2012) posits...

In-text example: If quoting

"We don't just portray ourselves online" (Leaver, 2012, 1:30).

Richardson (2015) states that "RDA is responsible for most of the development in the area" (slide 9).

Reference list example

Leaver, T. (2012). Social media rivers [iLecture]. Blackboard. https://echo.ilecture.curtin.edu.au

Richardson, C. (2015). RDA management [PowerPoint slides]. Blackboard. https://lms.curtin.edu.au

Extra Tips!

  • Include the format of the lecture in square brackets after the title of the lecture
  • In-text citation: If quoting from a recorded lecture, include a timestamp alongside the author and date indicating the point at which the quotation begins. For a PowerPoint presentation, include the slide number