Skip to main content

Fundamentals of Management

A guide for students studying the unit Fundamentals of Management, designed to help you find information sources, and develop study & research skills.

Getting started

This guide has been developed to help you with your research for Fundamentals of Management. Use the menu on the left to access information that will help you with your assignments. 

Image: Desk Work Office by rawpixel CC0

Common terms explained

Before you get started with your research, do you understand the kind of resources that you will be looking for and the tools you will using to find them? Below, you'll find some of the key terms explained.

  • Journal article: Journal articles report on specific research or studies, focusing on current developments in a particular field. More so than books, they are where to turn if you wish to discover the recent thinking for a specific discipline.
     
  • Journal: Journal articles are published in journals, essentially magazines, but for an academic audience. A journal will be published multiple times per year and is organised by volume (and sometimes issue).
     
  • Peer reviewed or scholarly journals: Prior to being published, a peer-reviewed or scholarly journal article must go through a quality control process. Assessed, either by a panel of experts or an editor who is considered an expert in the field, the article is reviewed and approved for publication. Peer reviewed or scholarly journals are considered highly credible sources because of this process. 
     
  • Databases: Databases are online indexes which provide access to books and journal articles, as well as newspaper articles, theses and a lot more. Some of the largest databases, such as ProQuest and ScienceDirect are multidisciplinary, which means they cover a range of subject areas. Others, like Business Source Complete, are much more specific focusing on a particular discipline. You'll find a full list on the Databases page.
     
  • Library catalogue: The library catalogue is a search tool that contains the library's physical collection (all the physical books, videos and other items that you can find in the library), as well as links through to the online resources (journal articles, eBooks and more) which are held in the databases.

Drop-in sessions

You can get help from your tutors in a number of drop in sessions happening throughout the semester. There's no need to register, just come along if you need help!

Essay plan sessions:

  • Wednesday 15 August, 12pm - 1pm (location TBC)
  • Thursday 16 August, 5pm - 6pm (location TBC)
  • Tuesday 21 August, 12pm - 1pm (location TBC)
  • Wednesday 22 August, 12pm - 1pm (location TBC)
  • Wednesday 22 August, 5pm - 6pm (location TBC)

Final essay sessions:

  • Wednesday 12 September, 12pm - 1pm (location TBC)
  • Thursday 13 September, 5pm - 6pm (location TBC)
  • Tuesday 18 September, 12pm - 1pm (location TBC)
  • Wednesday 19 September, 12pm - 1pm (location TBC)
  • Wednesday 19 September, 5pm - 6pm (location TBC)

Image: Support Letters Scrabble by Wokandapix CC0