Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Introduction to Health and Medical Resources

What is a drug formulary?

A drug formulary is a list of prescription drugs, both generic and brand name, used by practitioners when prescribing and administering medicines.

Australian Medicines handbook (AMH)

AMH provides a concise, up-to-date source of independent drug information to facilitate effective, rational, safe and economical prescribing and dispensing. The Children’s Dosing Companion provides information for prescribing and administering medicines to children from birth to 18 years.

MIMS Online

MIMS Online contains both abbreviated and full prescribing information, consumer medicine information and product images for pharmaceuticals available in Australia.

Martindale: The complete drug reference

Martindale is a comprehensive reference resource on drugs and medicines used throughout the world. Coverage includes: drug monographs, proprietary preparations, manufacturers and disease treatment reviews.

Pharmacopoeias

"A pharmacopoeia is a legally binding collection of standards and quality specifications for medicines used in a country or region. Within the pharmacopoeia, a quality specification is a set of appropriate tests that will confirm the identity and purity of the product, ascertain the strength (or amount) of the active substance and, when needed, the performance characteristics".
World Health Organization. (2013). The International Pharmacopoeia. WHO Drug Information, 27(2), 119-128. Retrieved from http://www.who.int/medicines/publications/druginformation/issues/DI_27-2_IntlPharmacopoeia.pdf

Complementary and integrative medicine

Complementary and integrative medicine should be considered alongside drug interventions in terms of their efficacy, but also their interactions and toxicities. 

See the database below when searching for information related to complementary, alternative and integrative medicine.