Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Vancouver referencing guide

Book

Reference components

Author Surname Author Initials. Title of book [Internet]. # ed. Place of Publication: Publisher; Publication Year [cited Year Month Day]. Available from: URL or doi: DOI

 

Book - One to six authors

Khan MG. Cardiac drug therapy [Internet]. 8th ed. Totowa (USA): Humana Press; 2015 [cited 2018 Oct 10]. doi:10.1007/978-1-61779-962-4  

Johnson M. Paramedic principles and practice ANZ. Chatswood (Australia): Elsevier Publishing; 2015.

Book - Six or more authors          

Berman A, Snyder SJ, Levett-Jones T, Dwyer T, Hales M, Harvey N, et al. Kozier and Erb’s fundamentals of nursing: concepts, process and practice [Internet]. 4th Aust. ed. Melbourne: Pearson Australia; 2018 [cited 2019 Dec 6]. Available from: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/curtin/detail.action?docID=5220629


Style notes:

  • If referencing a print book, omit the type of medium [Internet], cited date [cited Year Month Day] and URL/DOI
  • If the book is published in a city that is not well-known, add the country in brackets e.g. Chatswood (Australia)
  • For editions other than the first, enter the edition after the title e.g. 8th ed.
  • If you accessed the book electronically, include the date you accessed (cited) the book after the publication year

Chapter in an edited book

Reference components

Chapter Author Surname Author Initials. Title of chapter. In: Editor Surname Editor Initials, editor. Title of book [Internet]. # ed. Place of Publication: Publisher; Publication year [cited Year Month Day]. p. chapter page range. Available from: URL or doi: DOI

 

Fagan SG, Campbell VA. Endocannabinoids and Alzheimer's disease. In: Fattore L, editor. Cannabinoids in neurologic and mental disease [Internet]. London: Academic Press; 2015 [cited 2018 Oct 17]. p. 15-33. Available from: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/curtin/detail.action?docID=1929996

Cain JJ, Clauson KA, Fox BI. Digital communication in healthcare. In: Beardsley R, Skrabal MZ, Kimberlin CL, editors. Communication skills in pharmacy practice: a practical guide for students and practitioners. 7th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer; 2020. p. 189-209

Style notes:

  • If referencing a print book, omit the type of medium [Internet], cited date [cited Year Month Day] and URL/DOI
  • If the book is published in a city that is not well-known, add the country in brackets e.g. Chatswood (Australia)
  • For editions other than the first, enter the edition after the title e.g. 8th ed.
  • If you accessed the book electronically, include the date you accessed (cited) the book after the publication year

Dictionary or encyclopedia entry

Reference components

Title of dictionary or encyclopedia [Internet]. # ed. Place of Publication: Publisher; Year. Name of entry; [cited Year Month Day]; p. page number. Available from: URL or doi: DOI

 

Nahler G. Dictionary of pharmaceutical medicine [Internet]. 4th ed. Cham (Switzerland): Springer International Publishing; 2017. Tablet excipients; [cited 2020 Jan 16]; p. 318. doi:10.1007/978-3-319-50669-2
 
Black’s medical dictionary [Internet]. 42nd ed. London: A & C Black Publishers; 2010. Magnesium; [cited 2018 Oct 10]; [1 paragraph]. Available from: http://ovidsp.tx.ovid.com.dbgw.lis.curtin.edu.au

Style notes:

  • Include the definition/entry looked up e.g. Tablet excipients
  • If there are no page numbers, add the number of paragraphs in square brackets e.g. [1 paragraph]
  • If referencing a print dictionary or encyclopedia, omit the type of medium [Internet], cited date [cited Year Month Day] and URL/DOI
  • For editions other than the first, enter the edition after the title e.g. 42nd ed.

Thesis

Reference components

Author Surname Author Initials. Title of thesis [dissertation on the Internet]. Place of Publication: University; Publication Year [cited Year Month Day]. Available from: URL or doi: DOI

 

PhD thesis                      Czarniak P. Issues with the use of medicines in paediatrics: off-label and unlicensed use, and formulation uncertainty [dissertation on the Internet]. Perth (Australia): Curtin University; 2014 [cited 2019 Dec 6]. Available from: http://hdl.handle.net/20.500.11937/554
 
Master's thesis                    Smith C. The development and validation of the Breast Lymphoedema Severity Symptom (BLYSS) questionnaire [master's thesis on the Internet]. Perth (Australia): Curtin University; 2013 [cited 2020 Jan 16]. Available from: http://hdl.handle.net/20.500.11937/1022

Style notes:

  • If citing a master’s thesis, substitute [master’s thesis on the internet] after the title
    If referencing a print thesis, follow the same format but include [dissertation] or [master’s thesis] after the title and omit cited date [cited Year Month Day] and URL/DOI

Conference paper or poster

Reference components

Author Surname Author Initials. Title of paper. Paper presented at: Name of Conference; Year of conference Month Days; Place of conference.
 


Jackson P, Sixsmith J, Mihailidis A, Sixsmith A. Perspectives on collaboration in technology innovation for ageing. Paper presented at: 13th International Conference on Smart Homes and Health Telematics; 2015 Jun 10-12; Geneva (Switzerland).


Style note: If citing a poster, substitute Poster session presented at: