LibGuides: Open Access Resources for Health Sciences: Journals & databases

Featured journals

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
A directory of open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.

BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central provides free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.

PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to systematic reviews of healthcare interventions (open access within Australia only).

Elsevier
Open access journals for medical, health and life sciences.
Frontiers
Frontiers is an open access journal series covering health and life sciences topics.
Nature Publishing Group
Provides access to over 70 open access journals covering health and life sciences.
SpringerOpen
Provides access to a range of journals for biomedicine, dentistry, life sciences, medicine, public health and psychology.
Taylor & Francis open journals
Provides open access journals covering health and life sciences.
Wiley Open Access
Provides open access journals in life sciences, medicine, nursing, dentistry & healthcare.

Institutional repositories provide open access to research outputs including theses, journal articles, conference papers and book chapters.

espace This link opens in a new window
Curtin's institutional research repository, is an open access digital collection containing the research output of Curtin staff and students. Click Open access under Access status in the left menu to limit to accessible resources.

Australian OA Repositories
A list of repository contacts for repositories in Australian and New Zealand universities maintained by the Council of Australian University Librarians (CAUL).