LibGuides: Open Access Resources for Health Sciences: Books, reports & statistics

Book collections

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
The Directory of Open Access Books is a service of the OAPEN Foundation. The directory includes open access and scholarly online books across a range of subject areas.

InTech Open
InTech is an open access publisher of books covering the fields of science, technology and medicine. Includes books for: physical sciences, engineering, technology, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.

National Academies Press
Provides online access to books and reports on biology & life sciences, food & nutrition and health & medicine.

NCBI Bookshelf
Provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.

FreeBooks4Doctors!
Provides free access to medical texts on a range of topics. Please note: some texts are older so it is important to evaluate content before using.

Australian Institute of Health & Welfare (AIHW) This link opens in a new window
The Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) is Australia's national agency for health and welfare statistics and information.

Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) This link opens in a new window
The ABS website provides Australian Census data from 1996 onwards and a range of Australian statistics including: demography, labour markets, transport, health, education and social statistics.

Department of Health
The Australian Government Department of Health provides information on ageing and aged care, general practice, Medicare, the pharmaceutical benefits scheme, organ and tissue donation and enhanced primary care.

Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO)
APO is a news service and library specialising in Australian public policy reports and articles from academic research centres, think tanks, government and non-government organisations.

World Health Organization (WHO)
WHO is the health authority within the United Nations, responsible for leadership on global health matters.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
The CDC provides statistical data and publications for the United States.
Eurostat
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union and provides health statistics for most of the European countries.
NHS England
The National Health Service (NHS) provides statistics on a range of health and care subjects in England.
Statistics Canada
Provides statistics for Canada on a range of health topics.
UNICEF
Provides statistics on child health topics such as education, child mortality, child nutrition, child protection, HIV/AIDS, maternal health, and water & sanitation.