Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Guide to espace

About Curtin research publications

Traditionally the focus of the Curtin research publications collection has been on scholarly and peer-reviewed publications by Curtin-affiliated authors.

Integration of espace with Elements, Curtin’s Publication Management System, now enables the research publications collection to capture a wider variety of traditional and non-traditional research outputs.

The collection contains about 70,000 metadata records and includes outputs such as journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, curated exhibitions and artefacts.

Display of full text documents is subject to copyright clearance. Full text documents are available for nearly 35% of the publications. Some documents become available after publisher embargoes are lifted.                                                                                                                                              

Publications suitable for espace deposit

Curtin's Authorship, Peer Review and Publication of Research Outputs Procedures  states researchers will be responsible for disseminating research outputs through Curtin’s institutional open access repository, espace.

Curtin researchers deposit their research publications into espace through Elements, the University's Publication Management System. This ensures publications included in Curtin Staff Profiles are linked directly to the espace record.

Curtin research outputs mandated for deposit in espace:

  • peer-reviewed  journal articles,
  • peer-reviewed conference papers,
  • Higher Degree by Research (HDR) theses,
  • research outputs subject to funder open access policies.

Curtin research outputs recommended for deposit in espace:

  • books and book chapters,
  • non-traditional research outputs (such as creative works and reports) or their representation.

Availability of full text in espace is subject to copyright provisions and publishing agreements associated with research outputs. 

Curtin output not suitable for deposit in espace:

  • material intended for commercial purposes
  • content containing confidential or proprietary information
  • material where the Curtin author(s) do not have the right to make it available due to copyright and intellectual property restrictions
  • content not to be publicly accessible for reasons of privacy or cultural sensitivity
  • evidence of engagement and impact activities
  • dissertations/ theses associated with Honours and Postgraduate Coursework
  • undergraduate research
  • research data

Data publication

For further information on making data from your research more available to others view Curtin Research Data Collection or contact the Research Data team.


For detailed instructions on depositing to espace via Elements refer to: 

  • Curtin's Elements Publications Manual, located under Help in Elements
  • The 2-minute Video: espace Deposit process below

Complying with copyright obligations

Navigating copyright obligations can be complex, particularly as publishers can have very different policies regarding author’s rights on self archiving publications in an institutional repository.

If you are unsure of your copyright obligations:

  • Simplify the deposit process by uploading the accepted version of your research when you claim your publication in Elements.  
  • Refer to the SHERPA/RoMEO information box below to check publisher copyright and self-archiving policies for your journal. 

The accepted version, also known as the author’s accepted manuscript, is the version that has undergone peer review and been accepted for publication but has not yet been copy-edited and formatted for publication. The accepted version is usually in the form of a Word document rather than a PDF.

Generally, the published PDF version can only be displayed in espace if the author has retained copyright or published their research under a Creative Commons licence. 

Below are some examples of accepted versions versus published PDFs.

Example 1 of accepted version and published version of a journal article

Example 2 of accepted version and published version of a journal article

The Research publications:author accepted versions guide provides further information and examples of publication versions suitable for author self-archiving.

Prior to making full text of a published work available, the espace team checks that posting a version of your publication in espace complies with publisher policies and copyright provisions. Note: different provisions apply to Higher Degree Research (HDR) theses - see section on Copyright and your thesis.

The full text will only be displayed in espace if one of the following applies:

  • The author retains the copyright for the publication and allows it to be included in espace; or
  • The publishing agreement between the publisher and the author allows for deposit into an institutional repository; or
  • Permission to deposit the paper in espace has been granted by the publisher on request; or
  • The author has published in an open access journal (i.e. under a Creative Commons license).

If you have published under a Creative Commons license, or have paid a fee to the publisher to enable open access in a subscription journal, the Library will make the published version available in espace.

Journal online submission portal - accessing the accepted version

Obtain a copy of the accepted manuscript via the Journal’s online submission portal.

Step 1: Identify the online submission portal the journal is utilising

From the Journal’s website, locate the “Submit Your Paper” or similar option.

This will generally direct you to log into the journal’s online submission portal.

Note the type of online submission portal the journal is utilising:

Editorial Manager

ScholarOne Manuscripts

eJournal Press

Wiley Authors Submission Platform

Taylor & Francis Submission Portal

Manuscript Manager

ACS Paragon Plus


Step 2: Identify the corresponding author

The corresponding author is traditionally responsible for overseeing the online publishing process with the journal and has access to the online submission portal.

Step 3: Obtain a copy of the Accepted Manuscript from the journal’s online submission portal

If you are the corresponding author simply follow the instructions for the appropriate submission portal below to locate and download a copy of the accepted manuscript.

If you are not the corresponding author, please contact your co-author and request they download a copy of the accepted manuscript, using the appropriate submission portal instructions.

Instructions to obtain the accepted manuscript version are available for the following online submission systems: 

If you have published with the American Chemical Society (ACS Publications) please arrange for the corresponding author to email support@services.acs.org with the Article Title, Journal Title and DOI to obtain a copy of the accepted manuscript.

If your journal accepts manuscript submissions via email or uses a bespoke submission portal not listed above, please contact your journal’s Editor to request a copy of the accepted manuscript suitable for author self-archiving on espace, Curtin University’s Institutional Repository.

Step 4: Upload the accepted manuscript to espace via Elements

For detailed instructions on depositing to espace via Elements refer to: 

  • Curtin's Elements Publications Manual, located under Help in Elements
  • The 2-minute Video: espace Deposit process above.

SHERPA/RoMEO

SHERPA RoMEO is a searchable database of publisher's policies regarding the self- archiving of journal articles on the web and in Open Access repositories.  Each entry provides a summary of the publisher's policy, including what version of an article can be deposited, where it can be deposited, and any conditions that are attached to that deposit (e.g. embargo period).


Understanding the different elements of a SHERPA RoMEO Journal entry

When determining the correct version to deposit into espace, scan the Open Access pathways for Location = Institutional Repository.

In the example below, two deposit pathways are permitted by the journal's policy:

  • Published Version, or
  • Accepted Version

Sherpa Romeo Publisher Policy information example

The publisher conditions associated with the Published Version, demonstrates this version can only be deposited if the author has chosen to pay the associated Article Processing Charge (APC) to publish the paper Open Access.  No embargo period is associated with this version and reuse of the article is licenced under Creative Commons CC BY.

Sherpa Romeo Publisher Policy for Published version deposited into an institutional repository

 

The publisher conditions associated with the Accepted Version, demonstrates this version can be deposited to espace, however it is subject to a 12 month embargo period. Reuse of the article is governed by specific publisher re-use terms.

Sherpa Romeo publisher policy for accepted version deposited into an institutional repository

 

Please note espace does not currently accepted Submitted Versions, as the content may not have been subject to Peer Review.