Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OERu provides online open-source courses based on open educational resources. It delivers access to a wide selection of courses in a range of disciplines such as science, management, education and psychology under a Creative Commons license. Access to course content is free although paid assessment to gain academic credit is also available.
Many resources have a Creative Commons licence indicating the extent to which they can be shared or reused. Look for the Creative Commons licence symbols to determine exactly how a resource can be used.
Filtering for reusable content
1. Enter your search terms into the Google search box
2. Go to Settings > Advanced search > Usage rights
3. Select from the options relating to use, sharing, commerical use and modification.
1. Conduct your search in Google Images
2. Go to Tools > Usage Rights
3. Select from options relating to reuse, commercial reuse and modification.
1. Enter your search terms in the Flickr search box
2. Click the ‘Any licence’ drop down to view and select options to filter your search results to indicate content covered by all CC licences, permitting commercial use, and permitting modification or adaptation.
1. Enter in your search terms in YouTube
2. Go to filters> Creative Commons
3. This will display items with a CC BY License (The only Creative Commons license available in YouTube).
Public domain resources are not covered by copyright, trademark or patent laws usually because the copyright of an item has expired and can be used without seeking the permission of the copyright holder.
The time content takes to enter the public domain varies from place to place and can be dependent on the medium, most commonly in Australia 70 years after the death of the creator for artistic or literary works, photographs, computer programs etc.
OER Repositories World Map
Find OER repositories from across the world
1000 Free Online Courses
1,300 free online courses from the world's leading universities -- Stanford, Yale, MIT, Harvard, Berkeley, Oxford and more. Over 45,000 hours of free audio & video lectures.
The Orange Grove
Open Educational Resources from a range of subject areas such as business, education, Humanities, Mathematics, Visual & Performing Arts, Engineering & Technology and Communication & Information.
A directory of open educational resources and open courseware sites and supporting material.
An organisation aimed at revolutioning education through the use of videos. The resources are free and are suitable for students, teachers, principals and adults returning to study.
Consists of videos, interactive challenges and assessments, all available from any computer with web access.
Approximately 2,000 courses in a range of disciplines including lecture notes, online textbook material, assignments and exams with answers, and multimedia. Course content is downloadable, with the exception of the video materials, through iTunes.
The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and web pages intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material.
DOER - Directory of Open Educational Resources
Open Educational Resources from Commonwealth universities and educational institutions
A distributed repository of open learning resources suitable for students at different levels of study in different subjects
Prides itself on being the best online photo management and sharing application in the world. Some restrictions on the use of photos in this database apply.
A media file repository for freely licensed media content such as images, audio and video.
A source for Creative Commons audio content with an archive and mixing tools.
Public domain clip art.
An ABC multimedia site with CC licensed content such as video, music, art and text.
Subject based OERs
MITOpenCourseware - Business
Features content from over 2000 MIT courses including a number on business. Course content such as lecture notes are available under a Creative Commons license but course readings are not necessarily open access.
InTech Open - Business
A publisher of Open Access books with a selection of business, management and economics titles.
Open Textbook Library
Open Textbook Library is an extensive repository for Open Textbooks with a number of titles on Business, Management and Marketing.
College Open Textbooks - Business
College Open Textbooks is a not for profit collaboration of a number of organisations to promote open textbook usage. The repository contains titles from a number of different fields and has developed a peer review process.
OpenStax CNX - Business
A collection of modular online learning resources collected into subject based 'textbooks' or modules designed to be shared and reused.
OER Commons - Art
A range of open educational resources in the subject areas of Art History and Visual Art. License conditions range from share only to remix and share.
College Open Textbooks - Education
A collection of open textbooks from the field of education.
Learning objects for Healthcare - from the University of Notthingham
Open, Transferable and Technology-enabled Educational Resources from University of Leicester. Contains a number of Health Science courses with open licence content.
MedEdPORTAL - ADEA weTeach is a gateway mainatined by AAMC providing access to learning and assessment resources.
HEAL - Health Education Assets Library
A collection of freely available digital materials for health sciences, most adaptable under CC licenses.