Skip to main content

Foundations for Professional Health Practice: CMHL1000

Welcome

In this guide you will find resources and learning tools to help you locate information sources for CMHL1000 Foundations for Professional Health Practice. Click the tabs on the left to find books, reports, journal articles and statistics for your assignments. When using these resources, always follow the criteria provided for your assignments.

Image: computer-1149148 by Free-photos CC0

Common terms explained

Below are explanations for some key terms you will come across:

  • Journal articles: Journal articles report on specific research or studies, focusing on current developments in a particular field. More so than books, they are where to turn to if you wish to discover the recent thinking for a specific discipline.
     
  • Journal: Journal articles are published in journals, essentially magazines, but for an academic audience. A journal can be published multiple times per year and is organised by volumes (and sometimes issues).
     
  • Peer reviewed articles: A peer-reviewed article is one that has been reviewed and approved for publication by a panel of other experts (peers) in that field of study. Peer reviewed articles are considered highly credible sources because of this process.
     
  • Databases: These are online indexes which provide access to books and journal articles, as well as newspaper articles, theses and a lot more. The large database ProQuest is multidisciplinary, which means it covers a range of subject areas. Others, like CINAHL Plus with Full Text and Health Collection (Informit) are much more specific focusing on a particular discipline. You can find a full list of databases on the Databases page.
     
  • Library Catalogue: The Library Catalogue is a search tool that contains the library's physical collection (all the physical books, videos and other items that you can find in the library), as well as links through to the online resources (journal articles, eBooks and more) which are held in the databases.
     
  • ​Books: Provide an in-depth overview on a particular research topic. Collections of articles or chapters, written by different authors, are often collated into an edited book focusing on a topic area. eBooks are electronic books that are accessible online in full-text. They can be read online or downloaded to a computer, mobile device or eReader.   
     
  • Reports: Provide the who, what, where, when, and why of a particular situation, issue or problem and may be produced by government departments, research groups, not-for-profit organisations, companies and others.