Skip to main content

Psychology: Psychological tests

FAQs

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print provides evaluations of more than 4,000 commercially available (published) tests in education, psychology, business, law, healthcare, counseling and management. Descriptions of the purpose, target population, administration, scores, price, author and publisher of the tests are also provided.

Searching for a specific test:

When you know the details of a test you can search by: test title (e.g. Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory), acronym (e.g. MMPI), author (e.g. James N. Butcher) or publisher (e.g. University of Minnesota).


Searching for tests on a topic or area:

If you do not know the name or details of a particular test, you can search by keyword (e.g. self esteem). 

You can also search for tests in the following subject categories: Achievement, Developmental, Education, English, Fine arts, Foreign-Languages, Intelligence-and-Scholastic-Aptitude, Mathematics, Multi-Aptitude Batteries, Neuropsychological, Personality, Reading, Science, Sensory motor, Social-Studies, Speech-and-Hearing, Vocations, Behavior-Assessment.‚Äč

  • In the Multi-field Search, enter one of the above subject categories in the search box, then select Classification Code from the drop down menu and click Search.

  • Most of the tests indexed in MMY with TIP must be purchased from the publisher and may be restricted for use by qualified professionals. Where available, the database lists cost information as well as the publisher/author contact details.
     
  • Tests listed in the MMY with TIP database may be available to eligible Curtin students and staff via the Test Library in the School of Psychology.
Loading ...

PsycTESTS

PsycTESTS (Ovid) is focused on a collection of instrumentation tools developed for research but not made commercially available (unpublished tests). It provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.

Many of the records include the actual test instrument.

Searching for tests:

When you know the details of a test, you can search by test title (e.g. Quality of Life Questionnaire for Dementia) or acronym (e.g. QOL-D). If you do not know the name or details of a particular test, you can search by keyword (e.g. dementia).


Searching for test tools:

To limit to records which include the actual test or measure, enter your terms in the search box, tick PsycTESTS PDF option under Limits, then click Search.

PsycTESTS includes a Permissions field in the test record. This provides information about permissions for use of the test, how the test may be used and, if applicable, whether or not the publisher or author needs to be contacted before the test can be used. Some tools may also require you to pay a fee for use.

Loading ...

Searching databases

Information about the development, application/use, validity and reliability of measurement tools, tests, surveys, questionnaires and rating instruments can be found in journal articles. Articles and theses may also include the test itself (unpublished tests).


Searching databases

Some databases (such as PsycINFO, CINAHL and ERIC) provide specific searching limits to help with searching for testing tools. In other databases you can combine your topic with the following search terms to identify relevant articles:

Instrument, Inventory, Measure*, Psychological Tests, Questionnaire, Rating Scale, Scales, Survey, Test, Tool

For example: anxiety AND test OR inventory OR questionnaire OR rating scale OR measure*

PsycINFO is a database of psychology literature which includes journal articles, dissertations, reports, book chapters and books.


Searching PsycINFO for information about tests:

PsycINFO has a Tests & Measures field which you can use to limit your search.

  • In Basic Search, enter your topic or the name of the test into the search box and click Search. Then select Additional Limits, tick Tests & Measures and click on Limit a Search.
  • In the Multi-Field Search, enter your topic or the name of the test then select Tests & Measures from the drop down menu.

Searching PsycINFO for test tools:

  • To limit to articles which may include the actual test or measure, add append* to your search:

CINAHL provides access to nursing and allied health literature.


Searching for information about tests:

  • When you know the details of a test, enter the test title in the search box then select IN Instrumentation from the Select a Field drop down menu and click Search.

  • If you do not know the name or details of a particular test, you can search by keyword (e.g. depression) and combine with terms such as Instrument, Measure*, Psychological Tests, Questionnaire, Scale, Tests, Survey etc.

Searching for test tools:

  • To limit to articles which may include the actual test tool, enter your terms in the search box, then select the Questionnaire/Scale Publication Type limit under Search options and click Search.

ERIC provides access to educational literature including journal articles, dissertations, reports, book chapters and books. 


Searching ERIC for information about tests:

ERIC has a Tests/questionnaires field which you can use to limit your search.

  • In Advanced Search, enter your topic or the name of the test in the search box, tick Tests/questionnaires in the Document type box under More search options, then click Search.

Theses and dissertations are another source of information about testing tools. Students may refer to, or develop their own, tests in the course of their research.

Curtin's institutional repository contains the research output of Curtin staff and students. This includes Master's and PhD theses some of which discuss, or include, testing tools.


ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database provides access to doctoral dissertations and master's theses primarily from the US and UK.


Searching for information about tests:

  • When you know the details of a test, you can search by test title (e.g. Weschler Intelligence Scale for Children) or acronym (e.g. WISC-II). 
  • If you do not know the name or details of a particular test, you can search by keyword (e.g. intelligence) and combine with terms such as Instrument, Measurement, Psychological Tests, Questionnaire, Scale, Tests, Survey etc. For example: Intelligence AND scale OR measure* OR test OR inventory

Searching for test tools

  • To limit to theses which may include the actual tool, enter your keywords in the search box, and add append* to the search e.g. depression scale AND append*
Discussions of the application of tests can be tracked through citation databases such as Scopus and Web of Science.

Searching for information about a test

  • You can search by the test title (e.g. Becks depression inventory) to find articles which have referred to it.
  • For unpublished tests, you can search by the title of the article the test originally appeared in (e.g. An inventory for measuring depression). If you then click on the title of the article, it will provide you with a list of articles which have subsequently referred to the test.
Loading ...