Skip to main content

eBooks @ Curtin: Getting started

eBook formats

eBooks are generally available as either PDF or ePUB files.

PDF: fixed layout content. PDF files do not adapt well to different sized screens, so eBooks in PDF format can be difficult to read on devices with smaller screens such as tablets and smartphones.

ePUB: supports reflowable content. The text display adapts to the dimensions of the screen of the output device, allowing to more easily read an eBook on any device.

Electronic access

The Library is committed to providing resources in electronic format whenever practicable, as is outlined in the Collection Principles.

This means that new books for the collection are purchased as eBooks whenever possible. See the Library's Guidelines for Electronic Access for a more details.

What is an eBook?

The term eBook is an abbreviation for electronic book. eBooks are accessible online in full-text and are available for online reading or downloading to a computer, mobile device or eReader. 

This guide provides information on finding and using eBooks at Curtin Library. Start by watching this brief video on some basic facts related to eBooks.

Free ebooks

Some eBooks are freely available on the web. These are often scanned, older books out of copyright, although some organisations also choose to allow free access to more recently published works.

See the Find more eBooks tab for free or partly free eBooks.

eBooks at Curtin Library

The Library has a large collection of eBooks that is continuously growing.

We acquire eBooks from a number of different publishers and providers, which means that the look and functionality of the eBooks differ depending on where they come from.

Our eBook content includes collections from providers such as eBook Central (ProQuest), MyiLibrary, Knovel and Ovid.

But there are also many eBooks available through databases such as EBSCOhost, ScienceDirect, SpringerLink, Wiley, SAGE and more.