Skip to main content

Getting started with EndNote

Working with PDFs

EndNote allows you to add attachments such as PDFs to references in your Library. This is a useful way to store your research in one place.

To add a PDF to a reference:

  1. Highlight the reference in your Library
  2. Right mouse click on the reference or select the References menu
  3. Click on File Attachments then Attach File
  4. Navigate to the file on your computer and click Open
  5. Select another reference in your Library and a box will appear asking if you want to save the attachment
  6. Click Yes
The attachment will then display in the PDF Viewer tab and a paper clip icon will appear next to the reference.

Highlighting and annotating PDFs

The PDF toolbar allows you to highlight and make notes in your PDFs.

  • To open the PDF in a new window, click the Open PDF icon 
  • Click the Highlight Text icon  to highlight within the PDF
  • To add notes click on the Sticky Note icon  (the comments box can be resized)

Find full text feature

The Find Full Text feature searches for the full text of article references in your EndNote library and, if found, attaches the PDF to the reference. Note that not all PDFs accessible to you can be downloaded and this feature works better when using on-campus computers.

To use Find Full Text:

  1. Highlight the required references in your library
  2. Click on the Find Full Text icon Find full text icon in the toolbar or select the References menu and Find Full Text
  3. If a PDF is found it will automatically be attached to the reference along with the PDF URL and appear int the PDF Viewer tab.

 

 

 

 


If you are using this feature from an off-campus computer, you need to add the OpenURL path. To do this:

  1. Select the Edit menu in your Endnote library and choose Preferences
  2. Click on Find Full Text and enter: http://sfx.library.curtin.edu.au/sfx_local in the OpenURL Path box
  3. Insert =http://link.library.curtin.edu.au/openurl in the Authenticate with box.