Skip to main content

EndNote Online

Manual entry

Not all references can be found online, so you may need to enter some references manually. To do this:

New reference form for manual entry in EndNote Online

  1. Click on the Collect tab and select the New Reference option
  2. Select a Reference Type from the drop down list
  3. Enter the item details into the relevant fields
  4. Click Save

 

When entering authors/editors:

  • Use the format Last Name, First Name e.g. Smith, John J.
  • Enter each author on a new line
  • For corporate authors enter a comma at the end of the name e.g. Department of Health,

Direct export from a database

Direct export provides a quick and easy way to transfer data from online databases. The following databases allow direct export to EndNote Online:

  • Web of Science
  • EBSCO databases, such as CINAHL and Business Source Complete
  • Curtin Library catalogue

If you have installed the Internet Explorer plug-in (Windows PCs only) direct export will be available from additional databases when using Internet Explorer, Microsoft Edge and Google Chrome browsers.

Using the Capture button for websites

You can use the Capture Reference feature for online resources such as webpages that do not have options for direct export. The Capture button scans the bibliographic data stored on a webpage and creates a pre-filled reference.

Important: this may not import all the information for some websites, so you may need to add the rest manually.

Once you have installed the plug-in or bookmarklet:Capture New Reference form

  1. Browse the Web or search a database, until you have a list of search results or a particular article or webpage you wish to add to your EndNote library.
  2. Click the Capture Reference Capture Reference button bookmarklet or Capture button in your browser, and it will scan the bibliographic information on the web page.
  3. A window will open with options to add the reference(s) to EndNote Online (my.endnote.com) or Desktop (EndNote).

                                                    

Adding attachments

You can add attachments such as PDFs and Word documents to references in your EndNote Online Library.

To add attachments:Paper clip icon for attaching files in EndNote Online

  1. Select the My References tab to display all of your references
  2. Click the paper clip icon Paper clip attachment icon in EndNote Online in the record for the reference to open the File Attachments box. 
  3. Click Attach files and follow the prompts to locate and upload the file
  4. Once the file is attached the paper clip icon will change to blue