Skip to main content

EndNote X8

Formatting a bibliogrphy

In Word select your style by using the drop down arrow in the Style box within the Bibliography group. If the style you require is not available,click on Select Another Style from the drop down menu. Highlight your style and click OK.

If your in-text citation appears as {Cohen, 2000 #30} for example, this means that this citation is unformatted. Unformatted citations will not produce a reference list. To change between instant formatting and unformatted citations select the desired option from the EndNote ribbon or

Instant formatting is onInstant formatting is off

Large documents

It is highly recommended that you work in the unformatted version for large documents.
See the following PDF for information on working with large documents including tips on working with chapters:

Stand alone bibliography

        There are two methods for creating a standalone bibliography:

The table below contains instructions on how to create a stand alone bibliography.

Using the Export command

 Using the Copy Formatted command

  1. Select the references to print from your EndNote library
  2. Click File > Export.... The Export File name will appear
  3. From the Save as Type: drop down list select Rich Text Format (*.rtf)
  4. From the Output style: drop down list select required output style
  5. Your bibliography will be accessible from saved location
  1. Select the references to print from your EndNote library
  2. Ensure that the required references style is selected
  3. Click Edit > Copy Formatted or use Ctrl +K (Mac users Command+K)
  4. Open Word document Paste

 

Multiple bibliographies

EndNote offers three options for creating bibliographies:  

  1. a single bibliography at the end of your document
  2. a separate bibliography at the end of each section in your document
  3. a bibliography for each section and also a complete bibliography at the end of the document. 

The single bibliography will be created automatically with in-text citations.

To create a separate bibliography at the end of each section in Word, for all styles except APA 5th (sections) and APA 6th (sections) and Chicago 15th B (sections) you will need to make a copy and modify it.
To make a copy in your EndNote Library, the style to be modified must be displayed. Go to the Edit menu and select Output Styles. Click on Edit “your chosen style”. Next, click on Sections in the panel on the left side of the Output Styles box. Select the appropriate option, click on the black x to close. You will be asked to save the changes. Your new style will have Copy added to the name (e.g. APA 6th Copy). Click on Save. Ensure this style is then selected in your EndNote library and in your word document.
You will need to break your document into sections. To do this click on the Page Layout tab in Word and choose Breaks. Click on Next Page under Section Breaks each time you require a new section.

Bibliography categories

You can create your bibliography categories when you first begin writing a paper or at anytime during a writing project.

  1. Open your Microsoft Word document.
  2. Select the EndNote X8 tab. From the Categorize References menu select Configure Categories...
  3. Click the button [+] Category Headings to add a blank text field under Category Headings.
  4. Enter unique names for your categories e.g. references types - Books, Journals, Web Pages. Organise categories based on how you want them to appear in your bibliography in Word.
  5. Under References click on All References in Bibliography, all your references in your document will display, now using the drag and drop method, drag a specific reference to your category listed under Category Headings. The assigned category will appear in the category column next to the reference.
  6. Any reference not assigned a category will appear in the bibliography under the heading Uncategorized References.

 You can re-name a category, delete a category, or move references between categories.