Skip to main content

EndNote X8

Finding full text

This feature allows you to find full text articles associated with your bibliographic records.

When using Find Full Text for the first time you need to add the open URL path.

  1. From the Edit menu (EndNote X8 for Mac users) in your Endnote library, choose Preferences.
  2. Click on Find Full Text and in the OpenURL Path: box, type in http://sfx.library.curtin.edu.au/sfx_local.  
  3. You can leave the Authenticate with: URL box blank if you are working on-campus
  4. If you are working off-campus insert this url =http://link.library.curtin.edu.au/openurl in the Authenticate with: URL: box. 

To use, select required references, go to References>Find Full Text or use the Find Full Text icon Find full text icon in the toolbar. If a PDF is found it will automatically be attached to the reference along with the PDF URL. You will find that the success rate when using this is function off-campus is much lower than on-campus.

This search can work in the background, so you could continue working in your library. Depending on the results, you may see one of the outcomes below:

Find full text results

Adding attachments to existing references

Attachments can be a Word document, PDF, image or spreadsheet. You can attach PDF files in various ways and view them in the PDF Viewer.

To add an attachment to an existing reference.

  1. Select the reference
  2. On the Tabs panelPDF Attachment icons click the Attach Files (paper clip) icon. Navigate to the desired PDF and click Open to view the PDF in the PDF Viewer. When you select another reference click Yes to save the attachment. The paper clip icon will now appear next to the reference and the PDF will be in the File Attachments field.  OR
  3. Select the reference
  4. Right click or go to References>File Attachments>Attach File. Navigate to the desired PDF and click Open to view the PDF in the PDF Viewer. When you select another reference click Yes to save the attachment. The paper clip icon will now appear next to the reference and the PDF will be in the File Attachments field.  OR
  5. Select the reference. Press Ctrl+Alt+A. Navigate to the desired PDF and click Open to view the PDF in the PDF Viewer. When you select another reference click Yes to save the attachment. The paper clip icon will now appear next to the reference and the PDF will be in the File Attachments field.

             Use the Open PDF icon Fully open PDF icon to fully expand the PDF in a new window.

To insert a figure, open the reference. Go to References>Figure>Attach Figure>Choose File. Select the graphic file and click Open.  The figure will appear as a thumbnail in the Figure field.

Importing and creating references from PDFs

Creating a reference from a PDF

If a PDF contains a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) EndNote will import a file or folder containing several PDF's and automatically create a reference for the PDF.

  1. To import a file or folder go to File select Import
  2. then choose File… or Folder...
  3. At the Import File option navigate to  your PDF file/folder.
  4. At Import Option: select PDF.
  5. Discard duplicates.
  6. Click on Import

Highlighting and annotating PDFs

The PDF viewer allows you to quickly edit a reference and annotate attached PDF files.

PDF tool bar

  1. To highlight sections of the PDF double click on the required word/s or sentences and then click on the pencil icon above.
  2. To add comments double click on the required word or phrase. Then click on the Sticky Note icon. Next double click on the Sticky Note for the comments box to appear (the comments box can be resized).
  3. The Open PDF icon Fully open PDF icon  allows you to open your PDF in a new window.

 

Mac users:

To annotate the PDF, click on the Annotation toolbar... icon  Annotating icon and highlight the required text:

PDF toolbar for mac

  1. Highlights - Click on the Highlight icon  and choose your desired color from the dropdown arrow of the Color Menu
  2. Comments -   Click on the Sticky note icon   (the comments box can be resized).
  3. The icon  next to the paper clip allows you to open your PDF in a new window.

Automatic importing of PDFs

PDF handling preferences allow you to define the automatic renaming process of PDF documents that you want to import to your EndNote library. To set your preferences for automatic renaming of your PDFs:

  1. Create a folder in your desired location                                                                                                     
  2. Name your folder e.g. PDF folder
  3. Go to Edit>Preferences>PDF Handling (Mac users go to EndNote X8>Preferences>PDF Handling)
  4. Choose your PDF Auto Renaming Options
  5. To import a folder and its subfolders go to File>Import>Folder...:
  6. Tick box for Include files in subfolders
  7. Tick box for Create a Group Set for the import                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   My Adobe PDF Files by All-free-download.com

Automatic importing of PDFs

Tick box for enabling automatic importing for PDFs in a selected folder. EndNote simultaneously creates an imported folder for the saved PDFs in your main folder as well as placing them under Imported References in your EndNote library (not into your subfolder groups). Only PDFs saved into your main folder (not subfolders) will be automatically imported. EndNote will regularly scan this folder and import the PDFs. If a record already exists, the PDF will be attached.