Skip to main content

EndNote X8

Which reference type for EndNote X8?

For details on what to add in the relevant fields for the different reference types open the appropriate pdf below.

Manual entry

At the References menu (top of the screen) choose New Reference or Control + N (Command + N for Mac users), or the icon for  New Reference.

Use the drop down menu at Reference Type  Drop down menu for reference typeto choose the type of reference you require. The default option is Journal Article. Different reference types will show different fields.

Reference example

There are different ways to populate the Author field:

  1. Enter surname or family name first followed by a comma and then the first name(s) or initial(s) 
       e.g. Robinson, Arthur William or Robinson, A W
  2. If you enter the first name followed by the surname or family name then no punctuation is required 
       e.g. Arthur Robinson  
  3. For corporate authors place a comma at the end of the name  e.g. The Department of Agriculture,
       If an organisation has a comma in its name, place another comma next to the first one and don't put a comma after the name
       e.g.  Australian Government,, Department of Public Health

Note:

  1. Enter every new author on a separate line. You can use the TAB key to move to the next field
  2. Use correct capitalisation when entering author information
  3. It is only necessary to fill in the fields required for your referencing style
  4. You should type your data as you want it produced in your bibliography

To Save or Close, click on the inner x at the top right corner of the window or use Ctrl W. Select Yes to save. 

Previewing your reference - Highlight your reference and click on the Preview tab to view how your reference appears in your selected style.

Editing your reference -You can edit in the Reference tab without having to open and close the reference. The changes are saved when you click on another reference.

Direct Export

Direct Export allows you to export a reference from the database directly into your EndNote library. Most databases offer this function. It is recommended that you use IE. Additional steps are required when using Chrome or Firefox.  Generally, databases that have this export function, will display terms such as direct export, export directly to EndNote, export to reference manager etc.Direct export image

The imported references will appear in a temporary window called Imported References. These references will disappear from here once a new set of references are imported or if the Library is closed. They will always remain under All References and under Unfiled.Check that all the required data has been imported correctly. To view the whole library, click on All  References.
     

                                                                                               

Mac users: The exported references will appear in the Downloads folder. Drag and drop the file into the EndNote icon on the dock.

Not sure how to export to EndNote from a particular database? See the following document:

Exporting from Google Scholar

For an individual reference:

In Google Scholar, before you start your search 

  1. Go into Settings (located top left corner)
  2. Under Bibliographic manager
  3. At  select EndNote from the drop down menu
  4. Save changes

Search results will now display a link to click this and then Open.

Import into EndNote link in Google scholar

For multiple references:

  1. Click on the Icon for My library and sign in if you have an existing account. Otherwise you will need to create one
  2. Search for your required references and then select them
  3. Click on the Export icon and then choose EndNote
  4. Click on Open and your references will now appear in EndNote

Please be aware that during this process the URL is not transferred. A possible solution for this issue is to double click on the reference to open it and then click on the icon  Reference update iconFind reference updates. Check to see if the URL is available under Available Updates and then click on Update All Fields.

Import filters for databases

When direct export is unavailable, filters can be used to import references into EndNote by converting them into an EndNote compatible format. Extra filters are available and can be downloaded from the EndNote website.

  1. Go to Import Filters on the EndNote website 
  2. Locate the required filter and click on the Download button
  3. Click on Open. The filter file will open in EndNote
  4. In EndNote go to File and choose Save As. At Filter name: remove the word Copy and click Save
  5. Close the filter file by clicking on the small black cross or click on File and then Close Filter

Mac users - Select your required filter and choose Save Linked File to "Downloads". The filter will now appear in your "Downloads" drag the filter file into your Filters folder which is located HD:Applications:EndNote:Filters.

Exporting from the catalogue

For an individual reference

For multiple references

  1. Make sure you are logged into the catalogue
  2. Perform your search as required
  3. At the desired record click on the EndNote icon and then
    OR click on the title of the item for full details OR the three dots... (Show actions options)Download
  4. and then click on the EndNote icon and then Download
  5. Next click on Save (at the bottom of the screen) then Open (for the first time you have used this option you will need to select Open with and then choose EndNote)
  6.  Your reference will now appear in your open EndNote library 
  1. Complete your catalogue search
  2. Add selected results to your Favourites by clicking on the blue pin in the item record
  3. Go to My Favourites by clicking on the pin icon at the top right hand corner of the catalogue
  4. In My Favorites under SAVED RECORDS tick the box next to the records to select the required results
  5. Click on the three dots ... "Push to" actions at the TOP of the screen
  6. Click on the EndNote icon and then Download
  7. Next click on Save (at the bottom of the screen) then Open (for the first time you have used this option you will need to select Open with and then choose EndNote)
  8.  Your references will now appear in your open EndNote library 

 

Note: Please check the references exported from the catalogue as they generally require editing.

Mac users: Use Firefox (preferred browser) or Chrome and NOT Safari when exporting from the Catalogue.

Using different display modes

There are three different display modes in the EndNote toolbar:

Local Library Mode Local mode icon Online Search Mode Temporary Library Online mode icon  Integrated Library & Online Search Mode Integrated mode icon

The default option is the Integrated Library & Onlinde Search mode.

 Mac users:    Mode icons for Macs

For more information see:                            

Online search in EndNote

EndNote uses connection files to allow you to search library catalogues e.g. Library of Congress, UWA and some databases from within EndNote e.g. Web of Science and PubMed.

  1. Click on the Online Search Mode (Temporary Library) icon Online mode icon
     Mac users click on the Online Search Mode (Temporary Library) icon Mode icons
    To select a connection file, click on more under Online Search in the My Library column.
  2. Highlight the required file (catalogue or database) in the dialogue box and click Choose. Your chosen connection file will now be listed under Online Search in the My Library column on the left hand side and the search panel will appear at the top of the window.
     
  3. Enter your search term(s) into the search panel. Note that the first search field is Author by default (to set another field as a default, for example any field, click on the down arrow next to the Search button and select Set Default). Click Search and EndNote will then display a dialogue box which shows the number of results for the search. Click OK to view retrieved records.
     
  4. You can now select the references you want to keep and move them to your custom groups. To do this select the require references, right click and choose Copy References To and then the library, or select the  Copy to library icon icon. Return to your integrated library by clicking on this  Integrated mode icon icon. Mac users return to your integrated library by clicking on this icon Mode icons for Macs
    Now you can move these references from Copied References into your relevant Groups. 

Other connection files are available from: