Skip to main content

EndNote X8: Working with bibliographies in Word

Referencing software

Formatting a bibliography

    

Choose the style of your choice by using the drop down arrow in the Style box within the Bibliography group. If the style you require is not available, click on Select Another Style from the drop down menu. Highlight your style and click OK. To change your style you can also click on the small arrow next to Bibliography

If your in-text citation appears as {Cohen, 2000 #30} for example, this means that this citation is unformatted. Unformatted citations will not produce a reference list. To change between instant formatting and unformatted citations select the desired option from the EndNote ribbon or


What you need to know

Bibliography options

EndNote offers three options for creating bibliographies:  

  • a single bibliography at the end of your document
  • a separate bibliography at the end of each section in your document
  • a bibliography for each section and also a complete bibliography at the end of the document. 

The single bibliography will be created automatically with in-text citations.

To create a separate bibliography at the end of each section in Word, for all styles except APA 5th (sections) and APA 6th (sections) and Chicago 15th B (sections) you will need to make a copy and modify it.
To make a copy in your EndNote Library, the style to be modified must be displayed. Go to the Edit menu and select Output Styles. Click on Edit “your chosen style”. Next, click on Sections in the panel on the left side of the Output Styles box. Select the appropriate option, click on the black x to close. You will be asked to save the changes. Your new style will have Copy added to the name (e.g. APA 6th Copy). Click on Save. Ensure this style is then selected in your EndNote library and in your word document.
You will need to break your document into sections. To do this click on the Page Layout tab in Word and choose Breaks. Click on Next Page under Section Breaks each time you require a new section.

You can create your bibliography categories when you first begin writing a paper or at anytime during a writing project.

  1. Open your Microsoft Word document.
  2. Select the EndNote X8 tab. From the Categorise References menu select Configure Categories...
  3. Click the button [+] Category Headings to add a blank text field under Category Headings.
  4. Enter unique names for your categories e.g. references types - Books, Journals, Web Pages. Organise categories based on how you want them to appear in your bibliography in Word.
  5. Under References click on All References in Bibliography, all your references in your document will display, now using the drag and drop method, drag a specific reference to your category listed under Category Headings. The assigned category will appear in the category column next to the reference.
  6. Any reference not assigned a category will appear in the bibliography under the heading Uncategorized References.

 You can re-name a category, delete a category, or move references between categories.

To create a stand alone bibliography without any in-text citations, select the required references in your EndNote library. Right hand click and select Copy Formatted or use Ctrl+K. Paste into your word document.

Loading

Using { } brackets in Word

If you are using brackets regularly in your Word documents (e.g. for mathematical of scientific formulas) you may find that EndNote tries to format the content within them as references, as it understands brackets to signify in-text citations. You may be prompted by persistent messages asking you to choose a reference to add in these brackets.  This can also happen when using parentheses in Word documents.

If this happens, we recommend that you change the symbols (known in the program as temporary citation delimiters) which EndNote understands to signify in-text citations:

To do this open EndNote and go to Edit > Preferences > Temporary Citations.  Change the Temporary Citation Delimiters from curly brackets (or other brackets) to two different symbols which you are unlikely to use in your document (e.g. £ and $). Click on Apply > OK. You should find that this stops EndNote from trying to format content in brackets incorrectly. Your in-text citations will continue to display in the brackets as dictated by your chosen referencing style as normal.