Skip to main content

Indigenous Australian Education: Databases

Databases

A database is a collection of information resources (journal articles, books, book chapters etc) organised so it can be easily searched, accessed, managed and updated.

Databases help you to find high quality, up-to-date journal articles that have been published by respected publishers and publications. 

If you have been asked to find scholarly articles for your assignment, you will need to search the library catalogue or more importantly, a database! For more information, check out the following YouTube videos:      

How to find databases?

You can access Curtin's list of Databases via the Databases A-Z list or via LibGuides.  (Look for the Database tab).

Loading

Searching databases

                    

These videos will help expand your understanding of databases and show you how to search effectively.

It is important that you spend some time creating a search strategy before attempting to search a library database. 

This will help you formulate a string of search terms that can be combined effectively to enhance your search. So check out the following resources.

Loading

I teach!

                 

                    I teach by Krissy Venosdale

Not sure where to start?

Before you start searching for books or articles, try our interactive tutorial on Analysing your assignment topic.

You will need Adobe Flash Player 8 or above to view these tutorials.

Get Flash Player

Let us know what you think

We appreciate your comments. If you would like us to respond please provide your email address.