Skip to main content

Sexuality and Relationships Education: Find journal articles

Journals

A journal is a scholarly publication containing articles written by researchers, professors and other experts.  

Journal articles share the following characteristics:

  • Journals are published regularly (e.g. monthly) and are sequentially numbered (volume and issue number). 
  • Journals publish original research findings, discussions of theory and critiques of existing research
  • Are written by experts in a particular field of study
  • Are either peer-reviewed or scholarly

Most of the library's journal articles are accessed electronically through the databases and the library catalogue.

To learn more about journal articles and how to search for them, check out the video and the LibGuide titled Using the Library Catalogue.

Purpose:

Scholarly journals are also known as peer-reviewed or refereed journals. 

Scholarly journals include original research articles that serve to highlight new developments or recent findings in a particular field.

Some examples include:

                                                                                                         

                   Journal AMS by Wikipedia                                      APS Journals by APS

Authors:

Articles are written by researchers, subject specialists and experts in the field.

 

Audience:

Intended for a specialist readership - researchers, scholars/academics research students, and experts in the field.

 

Others:

Well researched, documented articles usually follow a standard format: abstract, introduction, literature review, methodology, results, conclusion, bibliography.

It employs technical, subject-specific language and jargon.

Articles often have footnotes and/ bibliographies.

Purpose:

Also called Magazines, these journals entertains and informs a general audience without providing in-depth analysis of the content. The articles are presented to entertain, promote a point of view and/or sell products. Egs:                                                                                                     

  • Newsweek
  • National Geographic   
  • Vogue (print not available at Curtin library)                                                                                                                                                                                    

Author:      

Articles are usually written by non-specialists - freelance writers, journalists etc.

Some articles are reviewed by an Editor, but not by a panel of experts.

 

Audience:

The general population.

 

Others:

Often includes extensive advertising, lavish photos and colourful covers to market the magazine.    

Employs general, popular language.

Purpose:

Reports on industry trends and new products or techniques useful to people in trade or business. It also allows trade professionals to connect with potential employers and network with suppliers. Articles focus on technical and practical aspects of a field. Egs:

 

Author:

Often written by professionals in the field or vendor representatives.

 

Audience:

Intended for professionals and members of a specific business, industry or organisation.

 

Other:

High volume of industry-specific advertising is involved including notices for job openings and articles on leaders in the industry.

Involves colourful pictures and illustrations.

Employs industry-related language or jargon.

Loading

Databases

A database is a collection of information resources (journal articles, books, book chapters etc) organised so it can be easily searched, accessed, managed and updated.

Databases help you to find high quality, up-to-date journal articles that have been published by respected publishers and publications. 

If you have been asked to find scholarly articles for your assignment, you will need to search the library catalogue or more importantly, a database! For more information, check out the following YouTube videos:      

 

How to find databases?

You can access Curtin's list of Databases via the Databases A-Z list or via LibGuides.  (Look for the Database tab).

Loading

Searching databases

These videos will help expand your understanding of databases and show you how to search effectively.

It is important that you spend some time creating a search strategy before attempting to search a library database. 

This will help you formulate a string of search terms that can be combined effectively to enhance your search. So check out the following resources.

Loading

Learning is for life...

Learning by Geralt on Pixabay CCO