Skip to main content

EndNote X7.7: Find full text, work on different computers......

Referencing software

Page contents

This page tells you how to:

                           Clipart

 

  • find full text
  • work on different computers
  • remove field codes
  • use different display modes
  • use manuscript templates

Find full text

This feature allows you to find full text files associated with your bibliographic records.

When using Find Full text for the first time you need to add the open URL path. From EndNote X7 in your EndNote library, choose Preferences... Click on Find Full Text and in the OpenURL Path: box, type in http://sfx.library.curtin.edu.au/sfx_local. Ignore the Authenticate with: URL box. Click Save.

To use go to References>Find Full Text or use this icon 

More information available in the Find Full Text Guide

Manual changes

If you want to make manual changes to your references or are submitting an electronic copy of a paper to a publisher, it is recommended that you remove the field codes.

Removing the field codes unlinks the document from its EndNote Library and saves the formatted citations and bibliography as a plain text copy

If you are submitting an electronic copy of a paper to a publisher, it is recommended that you remove the field codes, as they may be incompatible with the publishing software.

To remove the field codes, open your formatted Word document. On the toolbar click on the Tools drop down arrow   and choose Convert to Plain Text and then Save. The new document will appear as a new unsaved document with no field codes. Save this document with a new file name. Note that your original document with the field codes is still retained.

Using different display modes

There are three different display modes in the EndNote toolbar:

1. Local Library Mode   2. Online Search Mode   3. Integrated Library & Online Search Mode

For  further information see the pdf below.

Manuscript Templates

This function is temporaily unavailable.