Skip to main content

EndNote X7.7: Working with bibliographies in Word

Referencing software

Page contents

This page tells you how to:

  • format your bibliography
  • create multiple bibliographies

 

Clipart

EndNote youtube tutorials

Creating a standalone bibliography

To create a bibliography without any in-text citations, select the required references in your EndNote library. Right hand click and select Copy Formatted or use Command+K. Paste into your word document.

Formatting a bibliography

Your citations will be formatted automatically into one of EndNote's default styles as you add them to your document. You can reformat it into a style of your choice by clicking on the drop down arrow at the end of the toolbar and selecting your style. If it does not appear in the list click on Select Another Style...then highlight your style, click Choose.

If your in-text citation appears as {Cohen, 2000 #30} for example, this means that this citation is unformatted. Unformatted citations will not produce a reference list. To ensure all references are instantly formatted click on the CWYW Tools down arrow and choose the Bibliography Settings option and select the tab Instant Formatting and then click on the Turn On button and click OK.

Creating multiple bibliographies

EndNote X7.5 offers three options for creating bibliographies:  

  • a single bibliography at the end of your document
  • a separate bibliography at the end of each section in your document
  • a bibliography for each section and also a complete bibliography at the end of the document. 

The single bibliography will be created automatically with in text citations. To create bibliographies for sections in Word, you will need to break your document into sections. To do this click on Insert and Break and choose your desired option.

For all styles except APA 5th (sections) and APA 6th (sections) and Chicago 15th B (sections) you will need to make a copy and modify it.  To make a copy in your EndNote Library, the style to be modified must be displayed. Go to the Edit menu and select Output Styles. Click on Edit “your chosen style”. Go to the File menu and choose Save As then Save. Your modified style will have Copy added to the name.  Ensure this style is then selected in your EndNote library.

Go to the Edit menu and select Output Styles. Click on Edit “your chosen style copy”.  Next, click on Sections in the panel on the left side of the Output Styles box. Select the appropriate option, click on x to close. To format your Word document with the new output style, format the bibliography as normal making sure you select the new output style you created. 

Creating bibliography categories in Microsoft Word

You can create your bibliography categories when you first begin writing a paper or at anytime during a writing project.

  1. Open your Microsoft Word document.
  2. From the Bibliography drop down arrow on the EndNote toolbar choose Configure Categories... listed under Categorise References.
  3. Click the button [+] Category Headings to add a blank text field under Category Headings.
  4. Enter unique names for your categories e.g. reference types - Books, Journals, Web Pages. Organise categories based on how you want them to appear in your bibliography in Word.
  5. Under References click on All References in Bibliography, all your references in your document will display, now using the drag and drop method, drag a specific reference to your category listed under Category Headings. The assigned category will appear in the category column next to the reference.
  6. Any reference not assigned a category will appear in the bibliography under the heading Uncategorized References.

You can re-name a category, delete a category, or move references between categories.