Skip to main content

EndNote X7.7: Find full text, work on different computers......

Referencing software

Page contents

This page tells you how to:

 

                           Clipart  

  • find full text
  • work on different computers
  • remove field codes
  • use different display modes
  • use manuscript templates

 

Find full text

This feature allows you to find full text files associated with your bibliographic records.

When using Find Full Text for the first time you need to add the open URL path.

To use, select required references, go to References>Find Full Text or use the icon  . If a PDF is found it will automatically be attached to the reference along with the PDF URL. You will find that the success rate when using this is function off-campus is much lower than on-campus

This search can work in the background, so you could continue working in your library. Depending on the results, you may see one of the outcomes below:

 

Manual changes

If you want to make manual changes to your references or are submitting an electronic copy of a paper to a publisher, it is recommended that you remove the field codes.

Removing the field codes unlinks the document from its EndNote Library and saves the formatted citations and bibliography as a plain text copy.

Word 2007/2010: To remove the field codes, open your formatted Word document. Open the EndNote tab and in the Bibliography group select Convert Citations and Bibliography>Convert to Plain Text>OK The new document will appear as a new unsaved document with no field codes. Save this document with a new file name. Note that your original document with the field codes will not be changed.

Using different display modes

There are three different display modes in the EndNote toolbar:

For  further information see the pdf below.

Manuscript Templates

If you are writing a thesis, or writing for publication in a journal, you may find these templates useful, as they provide a guide that makes the writing process easier. EndNote comes with templates for quite a number of journals and theses styles such as MLA and APA. They open up as Word templates.

To open a manuscript template:

  1. In EndNote, from Tools, select Manuscript Templates
  2. In the templates folder in EndNote, select the title of the journal you need and click Open. The template will appear ready as a word document for you to type in your text.
  3. If your journal template is not available in the template folder you may be able to download it from EndNote web page and save into C:\Program Files\Endnote X7\Templates.