Skip to main content

EndNote X7.7: EndNote Sync

Referencing software

Overview of the Sync Process

         Clipart

EndNote allows you to synchronize the references in your EndNote library with the references in your EndNote Online library.

  • EndNote is the desktop version of EndNote

  • EndNote Online is the online version of EndNote desktop.

The Sync process automatically synchronizes both sets of references that reside in groups so that an exact match exists in both EndNote and EndNote Online.

The Sync process is always initiated from EndNote. The data in EndNote and EndNote Online are synchronized in both applications when you run Sync. You will have identical groups and references when Sync completes processing.

This includes all data changes to references (including file attachments) during the Sync process so that each library matches the other. For example, if you add or remove references and/or PDF files in EndNote, then those changes are updated in EndNote Online and vice-versa.

The Sync process includes updates and additions to groups in both libraries. For example, if you create and add references to a new group in EndNote, then you will see this group in EndNote Online the next time you run the Sync process.

Sync Preferences

Sync Preferences allow you to set your preferences so that:

  • You do not have to enter your e-mail address and password each time you synchronize your references between EndNote and EndNote Online.

  • You can have EndNote automatically begin the Sync process every 15 minutes (background processing) by selecting the Sync Automatically check box.

To access Sync Preference, go to the Edit menu, select Preferences... then click Sync in the list of preferences.

Important points to know about the Sync Process

 

  • Syncing with EndNote Online includes groups and group associations but does not include group sets, smart groups, and combination groups. These will be added in a later release.

  • After the Sync process completes, EndNote identifies each group that has Sharing enabled in EndNote Online with a shared group icon. A shared group is a group in which your colleagues can access and see them in their Groups Shared by Others section.

  • Sync will put groups, when a group set cannot be identified, in an Unfiled Groups set. Drag and drop the group to the appropriate group set in the desktop library.

  • You can select any EndNote library that you created with EndNote, version 8.0 or above to synchronize with your EndNote Online library.

  • Sync works with only one library and only one EndNote Online account.

  • You cannot synchronize an EndNote library with your EndNote Online library when you are in Online Only mode.

  • If you have a ResearcherID account, then your "My Publications" list and Publication Lists 1 and 2 will be displayed in Unfiled Groups. You can create a ResearcherID group set in the desktop library and drag and drop those groups into it.

  • EndNote automatically prompts you to Sync your EndNote library with your EndNote Online library when you close your default EndNote library.