Skip to main content

Taxation: Journals & databases

In this guide you will find many resources to help your study and research in the field of Taxation. There is also a range of learning tools that will allow you to develop your research and study skills.

Find It

Find it links allow you to check whether a specific journal article is available at Curtin.

Keeping up-to-date

Some databases enable you to set up email alerts, and advise you when new information, legislation, cases or commentary are published.

Any time, any place

Databases

This is a selection of relevant databases in the area. For a more comprehensive list, please see the Databases A-Z list which you can filter by subject.

What is...

Journal databases are huge, searchable, up-to-date indexes of journal references.

They help you to find high quality, up-to-date journal articles that have been published by respected publishers and publications. 

If you have been asked to find scholarly articles for your assignment, you will need to search a database.

View the YouTube video Understanding Databases for more information.

Journals are similar to magazines in that they are published regularly (e.g. monthly).

Articles in journals are more in-depth and well-researched than magazine articles. They are written by experts in a particular field of study, and are based on the author's research.

Most of the library's journal articles are accessed electronically through the journal databases.

To learn more about searching for journals and journal articles, see the Using the library catalogue LibGuide.

Loading

Truncation and wildcards

  • Truncation symbols: search for variations of a word. 
    e.g. manag* searches for manage, manager, management, managing etc.
  • Wildcard symbols: use in place of a letter or a string of letters. 
    e.g. search for the British and American spellings of organise by typing organi?e

Different databases treat truncation and wildcard symbols in different ways. To check what symbols you should use in a particular database, check the help pages. Open the document above for some common examples of truncation and wildcard symbols. 

Checkpoint titles

The following are useful tax titles on Thomson Reuter's Checkpoint platform. Click on the links below and log in. Click on 'Skip this step' on the Personalisation screen. Then click on the title you want in the 'My Products' box on the left hand side of the screen.

Start here

Internet Everywhere by Hyena Reality