Skip to main content

Google and Google Scholar: Google Scholar

Find full text

The majority of journal articles in Google Scholar are available via subscription only and you will often be asked to pay a fee to access an article.

However, the Library subscribes to many of these journals. Login in to Google Scholar via the Library Databases A-Z page and Find It @ Curtin links will be displayed. These will allow you to access the full-text of articles.

EndNote and Google Scholar

To export citations from Google Scholar to EndNote:

  • Go to Scholar Settings (located in top right corner)
  • Under Bibliographic manager, select EndNote from the drop-down menu
  • Save changes

Search results will now display a link to Import into EndNote.

Cite from Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides referencing help for the MLA, APA and Chicago styles. 

Click on Cite below a search result and select a style.

The formatting of these styles differs from the Curtin styles.

Always check the references against the Curtin Referencing Style Guides and make any changes as required.

Google Scholar Library

Google Scholar Library allows you to save and organise your own collection of articles within Scholar.

  • Click 'save' below a search result to add it to your library. 
  • Click 'my library' to access your saved articles
  • Can be linked to your Google Scholar Profile

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar is Google's academic search engine that searches across scholarly literature. It has extensive coverage, retrieving information from: 

  • academic publishers
  • professional organisations
  • university repositories 
  • professional websites covering all disciplines

Google Scholar can be a good place to start a search, helping to:

  • Locate obscure references difficult to find in library databases
  • Find more details on partial citations or incorrectly cited works
  • Identify grey literature not often indexed elsewhere
  • Discover useful journals or databases to explore in more detail

Google Scholar vs library databases

While it might be tempting to just search Google Scholar, library databases provide a more efficient and effective means to access information.

Benefits of searching databases instead of Google Scholar include:

  • Limit search to particular fields e.g. title, abstract or by subject
  • Retrieve manageable number of results, with ability to refine search
  • Results are limited to verfied and scholarly content
  • Material is indexed to allow for more accurate and targeted searching
  • Access material via library subscription

Search Google Scholar

Like Google, Google Scholar also has an advanced search function to enable more precise searching. Additional functionalities include determining how your search terms should be searched, searching by author or source publication and limiting by date.

To access the advanced search hover over the drop down arrow from the main search box.

Try it!

Find similar articles

When you find a relevant article, Google Scholar will link to additional articles via:

Related articles: A list of similar articles and resources.

Cited by: A list of publications citing that article.

Both these links are available under every search result.

Alerts

Receive email updates based on your search criteria:

  • Perform your search
  • Select 
  • Check your search terms
  • Enter your email address and select number of results
  • Select Create alert

You can also be notified when a particular article is cited:

  • Perform your search
  • Select Cited by below the appropriate article
  • Then select Create alert