Skip to main content

Search the literature: Manage information

Organise your references

In general, reference management software will allow you to:
  • Store, manage and search for your references
  • Transfer references from other databases into your library
  • Insert in-text citations and generate a bibliography into your documents
  • Share your references with others

 

What is EndNote?
  • EndNote is the bibliographic software application supported by Curtin Library.
  • It is available as a desktop and web-based versions
  • Curtin staff and students can download EndNote onto their computer or laptop.
  • EndNote Online allows you to access your references online
  • See the EndNote and EndNote Online LibGuides for more information.

 

Alternative bibliographic management tools
  • These include desktop programs, web applications and browser plug-ins.
  • Some are open source and freely available, other programs require a payment.
  • Curtin Library does not currently support these programs.
  • Online help is available via the respective website.

 

Saved searches and database alerts

Many databases allow you to create an personal login to save preferences, searches and create alerts. Within the database look for an option to Create a New/Personal Profile or Set up Alert.

 

Once you have created alerts, the database can runs regular searches on:
  • References to articles on a topic or subject search.
  • Contents pages of recent journal issues.
  • Citations to specific articles or authors.
You can receive your alerts via email or RSS feed. If the full-text of an article is not available, you may be able to request the item.

 

Search alerts

 

  • Save a search query to quickly access the retrieved results at a later stage.
  • You may also wish to rerun the search in the future to identify new articles.
  • Use this saved query to set up an alert.
  • Create search alerts to receive new articles that match the criteria.
  • To edit or stop the alerts, you will need to login to the database.
Article and TOC alerts

 

  • Create citation alerts to follow citations to a particular reference.
  • Find and open the reference you want to track and set an alert.
  • Follow your own article or an article of particular interest or relevance.
  • This feature is only available in citation databases.
  • Create journal alerts to receive the latest issues of journals.
  • Once the title is available, you will be sent the Table of Contents.
  • For example, this is available in Web of Knowledge and ScienceDirect.

Information management

post-it® notes by xavi talleda