Skip to main content

Search the literature: Select a database

Scholarly databases vs Google

Databases provide a more efficient and effective means to access information than searching Google. Benefits of databases include:
  • Retrieve manageable number of results, with ability to refine search.
  • Results are limited to verfied and scholarly content.
  • Material is indexed to allow for more accurate and targeted searching.
  • Access to material via library subscription.

For further information on searching Google, see:

Curtin Library databases

Curtin Library subscribes to over 600 databases most of which are available to Curtin staff and students only.

 

Find a database by subject
  • Subject LibGuides provide recommended resources, aligned with Curtin’s teaching areas
  • Library home > LibGuides (under Library links) and select your Faculty
  • Databases A-Z contains an expanded list of subject-relevant databases
  • Library home > Databases (under Library links) and Filter by Subject

 

Find a database by name
  • Library Catalogue includes all databases the library subscribes to
  • Type exact name into catalogue search and filter by Resource type
  • Databases A-Z contains key library databases and quick links to the most popular databases
  • Library home > Databases (Library links) and select the first letter

Learn about databases

This video explains the main differences between full-text, bibliographic, multidisciplinary and discipline-specific databases. Read the transcript.

Select a database

Did you know...

The catalogue includes journal articles and other resources - not just books.
For information on how to search, see:

Web resources