Skip to main content

eBooks @ Curtin: Engineering eBooks extras

Introduction to Knovel

Knovel is an eBook provider that features a web-based application integrating technical information with analytical search tools.  It has a large collection of full-text eBooks from many different publishers and includes reference handbooks, conference proceedings and databases.

You can use the widget below to search for titles in Knovel, or alternatively go to the A-Z Databases list and find Knovel to perform your search in the database. All titles can also be accessed by searching the library catalogue.

What Knovel can do...

Some Knovel eBooks incorporate interactive productivity tools that provide very useful functions:
  • Do you need to estimate the vapour pressure of chemicals at elevated temperatures? Try the interactive equations to see how easy it is to pick your values.
  • Browse collections of practical equations and worked examples, use the built-in Equation Solver to calculate, and export your calculation for reports or sharing knowledge.
  • Create a worksheet from scratch by combining text, math, images and plots. Have easy one-click access to a toolbox containing math functions, engineering units, programming structures, and math symbols used in engineering formulas.
  • Are you looking for a solvent with a b.p. between 120˚Cand 130˚C? Try the data search that delivers optimised results for engineers. The search engine will even do the unit conversion.
  • A comprehensive unit converter is also included.
  • Use the Knovel Mobile App

Creating a Knovel account

With a Knovel user account you can:

  • Save titles to your bookshelf.
  • Organise content into folders on your bookshelf.
  • Save searches you are conducting.

To create an account:

  • Go to the  tab and select Register.
  • Complete the form and sign up.
  • Activate your account via the automated email.

Printing and downloading

eBooks in Knovel are in PDF format. A book's sections are presented on the title page with every chapter being an individual PDF file.

You can read the chapters online, print or download them.

The print and download allowance for Knovel eBooks is generally no more than 10% or 25 pages per title.

Export to EndNote


Easily get your references into EndNote:

  • Perform your search and select your book.
  • On the title page select 
  • Select Export and choose EndNote
  • Your reference will be imported into your EndNote library.

Subject areas

  • Adhesives, Coatings, Sealants & Inks
  • Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology
  • Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering & Construction
  • Earth Sciences
  • Electrical & Power Engineering
  • Electronics & Semiconductors
  • Food Science
  • General Engineering & Project Administration
  • Industrial Engineering & Operations Management
  • Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering
  • Metals & Metallurgy
  • Mining Engineering & Extractive Metallurgy
  • Nanotechnology
  • Oil & Gas Engineering
  • Plastics & Rubber
  • Process Design, Control & Automation
  • Sustainable Energy and Development
  • Transportation Engineering

Video tutorials

View these video tutorials to learn more about using Knovel.

Knovel blogs

Knovel has several blogs to keep you up to date.