Skip to main content

Measure research impact and quality: Create citation report

Why create a report?

A citation report is a collation of bibliographic details for the documents an individual has authored, along with the number of times those documents have been cited. This report may be used to support:
  • Job applications
  • Academic promotions
  • Grant applications
  • Academic credibility 

 

The intended purpose of the report might influence what is included and how the information is presented.

 

Read more on citation analysis and the measures for identifying non-scholarly impact.

Search for citations

It is important to select the right tools to capture the majority of your research output. Note that citation databases tend to index journal articles only.

 

The number of citations:
  • Includes only those articles indexed within the database
  • Will vary depending on the database coverage e.g. sources, date range
You may also wish to view the step-by-step instructions for Scopus and Web of Science.

 

For documents indexed within a database
Search by the title and author name(s) to locate a specific article. The author name plus subject, institution and/or publication years will find all articles by an author.

 

The number of citations:
  • Includes only those articles indexed within the database
  • Will vary depending on the database coverage e.g. sources, date range

 

 
For non-indexed documents
If you cannot find the document using the standard search, there are alternative search options within the databases to find citation information.

 

These search options include:
  • Web of Science's Cited Reference Search
  • Scopus's Secondary documents and Web results
  • Google Scholar/Publish or Perish

 

For books and book chapters
Books are not traditionally indexed in databases and may be less frequently cited. To measure the impact of books and similar publications, look at how they have been received.

 

This might include:
  • Book reviews, noting the author and where it has been published
  • Library holdings in WorldCat and Libraries Australia
  • Usage in curriculum e.g. as core or recommended text in University courses
  • Also consider following instructions above for non-indexed documents

Create report

You may also wish to view the step-by-step instructions for Web of Science and Scopus.

Identify all publications by the author(s) and add records to the database's saved list for easy access and retrieval.

View report within the database
The citation reports within Scopus and Web of Science display citations by article and by year, with links to the citing articles.

The report function will allow you to:
  • Sort results by publication date, times cited, etc
  • Identify trends over time
  • View the h-index for the article set
  • Exclude self-citations by the author from the report

Create your own citation report
Create report of publication and citation data for your own records or for grant or promotion applications. Always state the citation database you used and the date accessed.
  • Use the saved list feature within the database to export the full record.
  • Select fields to include in the output, including Times Cited.
  • Reference management software e.g. EndNote can be used to create a report.

+ Show more information on using EndNote for citation reports

Create citation report

Did you know...

Generally citation analyses will include articles, notes and review articles only.