Skip to main content

Fundamentals of Management: Journals & databases

A LibGuide for students studying the unit Management 100, designed to help you find information sources, and develop study & research skills.

Find It

Find it links allow you to check whether a specific journal article is available at Curtin.

Truncation and wildcards

  • Truncation symbols: search for variations of a word. 
    e.g. manag* searches for manage, manager, management, managing etc.
  • Wildcard symbols: use in place of a letter or a string of letters. 
    e.g. search for the British and American spellings of organise by typing organi?e

Different databases treat truncation and wildcard symbols in different ways. To check what symbols you should use in a particular database, check the help pages. Open the document above for some common examples of truncation and wildcard symbols. 

Searching for your assignment

The videos above should help you develop an effective search strategy to identify journal articles for your first assignment. You should see the Library Skills guide for very useful demonstrations on Searching the Library Catalogue and Searching the Library Databases.

What is...

Journal databases are huge, searchable, up-to-date indexes of journal references.

They help you to find high quality, up-to-date journal articles that have been published by respected publishers and publications. 

If you have been asked to find scholarly articles for your assignment, you will need to search a database.

View the YouTube video Understanding Databases for more information.

Journals are similar to magazines in that they are published regularly (e.g. monthly).

Articles in journals are more in-depth and well-researched than magazine articles. They are written by experts in a particular field of study, and are based on the author's research.

Most of the library's journal articles are accessed electronically through the journal databases.

To learn more about searching for journals and journal articles, see the Using the library catalogue LibGuide.

Loading

Not sure where to start?

Try our START Searching tutorial to learn how to search the library databases for your assignment topic.

Library & Learning Centre workshops

See the workshops calendar for upcoming Library and Learning Centre classes.