Skip to main content

UniReady: Databases & newspapers

This guide is designed for prospective students who are undertaking the UniReady programme.

Public & state libraries

Register at your local WA public library or the State Library of WA and you can access databases in the public library or State Library or from home.

You will need to provide photo ID and proof of your current residential address when registering.

Notepad by Matt Reinbold CC BY-SA

Databases @ the State Library

Journals & databases

Journals are similar to magazines in that they are published regularly (e.g. monthly).

Articles in journals are more in-depth and well-researched than magazine articles. They are written by experts in a particular field of study, and are based on the author's research.

Most of the library's journal articles are accessed electronically through the library databases.

Journal databases are huge, searchable, up-to-date indexes of journal references.

Databases help you to find high quality, up-to-date journal articles that have been published by respected publishers and publications.

If you have been asked to find scholarly articles for your assignment, you will need to search a database.

A peer reviewed journal contains articles that, before being accepted for publishing, are reviewed and approved by a panel of experts in the same subject area as the articles' authors. Similar terms used for these types of journals are: refereed, scholarly and academic.

The library catalogue and many journal databases allow you to limit your search to only include these types of journals. And Ulrichsweb is a directory to check whether journals are refereed.

Loading

Databases @ Curtin

You have access to some of Curtin library's databases, both from inside and outside the library. See the links below.

Note: Use your Student ID and OASIS password to access the computers and Curtin Library resources in the Robertson Library.

Is my information any good? How can I tell?

Newspapers

The Robertson Library has a newspaper section on level 2 where you can sit and browse Australian newspapers. Newspapers arrive daily and are kept in print for three months. Titles include:

  • The Australian
  • The West Australian
  • Australian Financial Review

Online news sources

Use these links to browse recent online newspapers. Newspaper articles are also available through the ProQuest database.

Need help finding information?

Try these interactive tutorials:

You will need Adobe Flash Player 8 or above to view these tutorials.