Skip to main content

Curtin Pathway Students: Journals, newspapers & databases

What is a journal article?

Journals are similar to magazines as they are both published regularly (e.g. monthly).

Articles in journals are more in-depth and well-researched than magazine articles. They are written by experts and often report the author's research.

Many journal articles are only available online through journal databases.

Public & state libraries

Register at your local WA public library or the State Library of WA and you can access databases in the public library or State Library or from home.

You will need to provide photo ID and proof of your current residential address when registering.

Nice laptop on a glass table by Damon Duncan

What is a database?

Journal databases are huge, searchable, up-to-date indexes of scholarly journal articles. Many provide the full article and some also provide magazine and newspaper articles.

Databases help you to find recent, quality journal articles on a topic that have been published by quality publishers.

You can search databases that are either online through Curtin Library or your public or state library website. The list below includes databases available to you at Curtin, and databases available by registering with the State Library.

Databases @ Curtin

You have access to some of Curtin library's databases, both from inside and outside the library. See the links below for a list of databases that you have access to.

Note: To access Curtin Library resources in Robertson Library, you first need to login to the library computers using the Visitor login. You can then use your student ID (Certificate/Diploma students this is C followed by your student number) and password (your date of birth YYYYMMDD) to access the databases.

Databases @ the State Library

Need help finding information?

Try these interactive tutorials:

You will need Adobe Flash Player 8 or above to view these tutorials.

Newspapers

The Robertson Library has a newspaper section on level 3 where you can sit and browse local and international newspapers. Newspapers arrive daily and are kept in print for three months. Titles include:

  • The Australian
  • The West Australian
  • Australian Financial Review
  • The Nikkei Weekly
  • South China Morning Post
  • Straits Times

Online news sources

Use these links to browse recent online newspapers. Newspaper articles are also available through the ProQuest database.