Skip to main content

EndNote Online: Word

Inserting references

Download the Cite While You Write Plug-In under Format in EndNote Online.
  
 Word 2007 and Word 2010
 In Word, select the EndNote toolbar.
  • Click on Preferences and then on Application.
  • Select EndNote Web (EndNote Online) from the drop down menu.
  • Click OK.
  • Enter your EndNote Online account details.                                           
                                                                                                                                  
 
 
  • To insert a reference from your EndNote Online library, have your Word document open and place the cursor in the location where the reference should appear.
  •  Click on the Find Citations icon and enter your search term (e.g. author's name) for the reference you require.
  • Highlight the reference and click on Insert or the drop down arrow for other options.
     

Each time you find and insert a citation in your document, the bibliography automatically formats according to the style selected. (Note you can only use the styles provided by EndNote).You can change the bibliographic style or other layout options through the Bibliography launcher.

 Word 2011 (Mac)
 
In Word, click on Cite While You Write Preferences on the EndNote toolbar. Click on Application. Select EndNote Web (EndNote Online). Enter your E-mail Address and Password if required. Click OK. Your toolbar will now look like this:
 
 
  •  Go to Find Citation(s)  and do a keyword or author search (you may need to log in).
  • Highlight the required reference and click on Insert.

Each time you find and insert a citation in your document, the bibliography automatically formats according to the style selected. (Note you can only use the styles provided by EndNote). You can change the bibliographic style by clicking on Format Bibliography.

  
For more information on using EndNote Online in Word documents go to Finding and Inserting a Reference
 

Creating an independent bibliography

In EndNote Web you can create an independent bibliography by going to Format and Bibliography then selecting the group of references, bibliographic style and file format. This can then be saved, emailed or printed.

Note: References copied to the Quick List (temporary folder) remain during your active session in EndNote Web. Once you log out of your library or your session expires, the quick list is cleared.

For more information on formatting and bibliographies, go to Generating a Bibliography.

 

 

AttributionNoncommercialShare Alike 2011/365: June 19 by mnotta