Skip to main content

Construction Management: Find journal articles

Journals

A journal is a scholarly publication containing articles written by researchers, professors and other experts.    

Journal articles share the following characteristics:

  • Journals are published regularly (e.g. monthly) and are sequentially numbered (volume and issue number). 
  • Journals publish original research findings, discussions of theory and critiques of existing research
  • Are written by experts in a particular field of study
  • Are either peer-reviewed or scholarly

 

Searching for journal articles

Most of the library's journal articles are accessed electronically through the library catalogue and Databases.

To learn more about journal articles and how to search for them, check out the video and the LibGuide titled Using the Library Catalogue.

peer-reviewed article is an article that has undergone an extensive editorial process or formal approval process. The article is thoroughly reviewed by experts in the field of study before it is accepted for publication. The process ensures the article is highly accurate and well-researched. It is sometimes called a refereed journal.

scholarly article is an article written by someone with academic qualifications or expert knowledge and aimed at a scholarly audience (eg students at an academic institution). It reports on original research findings and include citations.   

For more information, check-out the You Tube videos below:

 

Searching for peer-reviewed articles

Peer-reviewed articles can be found by searching through the library catalogue and databases. 

There are a number of ways to find out if an article is peer-reviewed or refereed:

  • In many of our databases you can limit your searches to just peer-reviewed or refereed journals using a checkbox or other options on the search screen.

There are a number of advantages to using journal articles for your research:                                   

  • Currency - journals are published regularly so you can have access to the most up-to-date research findings as soon as they are published
  • Authority - written by people with formal qualifications (academics, researchers, etc) or subject specialists 
  • Scholarly or peer-reviewedhigh quality research papers written by experts in the academic field
  • Specificity - they contain information on a specific topic thus providing more in-depth knowledge on that topic
  • References - contain a list of references that can be used to further develop a topic.
Loading

Databases

A database is a collection of information resources (journal articles, books, book chapters etc) organised so it can be easily searched, accessed, managed and updated.

Databases help you to find high quality, up-to-date journal articles that have been published by respected publishers and publications. 

If you have been asked to find scholarly articles for your assignment, you will need to search the library catalogue or more importantly, a database! For more information, check out the following YouTube videos:      

 

How to find databases?

You can access Curtin's list of Databases via the Databases A-Z list or via LibGuides.  (Look for the Database tab).

Loading ...

Searching databases

                    

These videos will help expand your understanding of databases and show you how to search effectively.

It is important that you spend some time creating a search strategy before attempting to search a library database. 

This will help you formulate a string of search terms that can be combined effectively to enhance your search. So check out the following resources.

Loading ...

Featured database!

  Materials Business File

This database focuses on industry news, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries. It covers topics including: recycling, health and safety issues, alloy and material developments, new material development, energy usage, raw materials, product and process developments, management issues and training, resources and reserves, control and testing, and so much more!

                

              So Much Scaffolding by J. Kinghorn