Skip to main content

Introductory Economics: Journals & databases

Truncation and wildcards

  • Truncation symbols: search for variations of a word. e.g. manag* searches for manage, manager, management, managing etc.
  • Wildcard symbols: use in place of a letter or a string of letters. e.g. search for the British and American spellings of organise by typing organi?e

Different databases treat truncation and wildcard symbols in different ways. To check what symbols you should use in a particular database, check the help pages. Open the document below for some common examples of truncation and wildcard symbols. 

Economics
Economics by Mark Wainwright - flickr 

Library & Learning Centre workshops

See the workshops calendar for upcoming Library and Learning Centre classes.

More databases?

If you want to see a more comprehensive list of databases, please see the Databases A-Z list which you can filter by subject.

Find articles using library databases

To find articles on a topic, you can search databases subscribed to by the library. Start by searching a full-text database where about 50% or more of the journal and newspaper articles are online.

The articles you find will be mainly from international sources and you should construct your search in a particular way. You must use the Boolean terms and and or between your search terms. For example:

  • petroleum and prices
  • oil industry and prices
  • oil and prices and australia

You can also limit your search to articles within a Date range e.g. on or after the 1st June 2009. Here are some relevant full-text databases:

What is...

Journal databases are huge, searchable, up-to-date indexes of journal references.

They help you to find high quality, up-to-date journal articles that have been published by respected publishers and publications. 

If you have been asked to find scholarly articles for your assignment, you will need to search a database.

View the YouTube video Understanding Databases for more information.

Journals are similar to magazines in that they are published regularly (e.g. monthly).

Articles in journals are more in-depth and well-researched than magazine articles. They are written by experts in a particular field of study, and are based on the author's research.

Most of the library's journal articles are accessed electronically through the journal databases.

To learn more about searching for journals and journal articles, see the Using the library catalogue LibGuide.

Loading