Skip to main content

Communication in Business: Journal databases

CIB100

Seagate Wuxi China Factory Tour

Seagate Wuxi China Factory Tour by Robert Scoble 

Which databases should I use?

You will need to find journal articles for both your assignments. They will provide very up-to-date and detailed information. To find current journal articles about your company, you will need to search Curtin Library’s databases. You must login to the databases with your Curtin ID and OASIS Password.

All databases will have British and American spelling. See Truncation and Wildcards box below.

Some useful databases to search for this assignment are:

What keywords should I use?

When searching the library's journal databases you can be very specific with your keywords. To find journal articles discussing the social performance of your company, some suggested searches would be:

[company name] and social performance
[company name] and corporate social responsibility
[company name] and sustainability
[company name] and community involvement

If you know of a program, event or campaign which your company has been involved in then use these as your keywords.

Truncation and wildcards

  • Truncation symbols: search for variations of a word. 
    e.g. manag* searches for manage, manager, management, managing etc.
  • Wildcard symbols: use in place of a letter or a string of letters. 
    e.g. search for the British and American spellings of organise by typing organi?e

Different databases treat truncation and wildcard symbols in different ways. To check what symbols you should use in a particular database, check the help pages. Open the document above for some common examples of truncation and wildcard symbols. 

What is...

Journal databases are huge, searchable, up-to-date indexes of journal references.

They help you to find high quality, up-to-date journal articles that have been published by respected publishers and publications. 

If you have been asked to find scholarly articles for your assignment, you will need to search a database.

View the YouTube video Understanding Databases for more information.

Journals are similar to magazines in that they are published regularly (e.g. monthly).

Articles in journals are more in-depth and well-researched than magazine articles. They are written by experts in a particular field of study, and are based on the author's research.

Most of the library's journal articles are accessed electronically through the journal databases.

To learn more about searching for journals and journal articles, see the Using the library catalogue LibGuide.

Loading